Constitutional Officers

Constitutional officers hold elected positions created by Virginia law. Their responsibilities are outlined in the Code of Virginia.

Current Constitutional Officers of Nottoway County:

  • Clerk of the Circuit Court—Jane Brown
  • Treasurer—Ellen F. Myatt
  • Sheriff—Robert Jones
  • Commissioner of the Revenue—Christy A. Hudson
  • Commonwealth’s Attorney—Leanne Watrous

Each constitutional officer is elected by a vote of all Nottoway County citizens. Terms for all officers except Clerk of the Circuit Court are for four years; the Clerk of the Circuit Court fills a term of eight years.

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

Your FOIA Rights & Responsibilities (PDF)

Commonwealth’s Attorney

Ms.Watrous serves as her own designated FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) officer. If you have a FOIA request, please contact her via e-mail at or call (434) 645-8268.


Should you require any information from Nottoway County Treasurer’s office in accordance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, please contact the following public information officer: Ellen F. Myatt (434) 645-9318.

Commissioner of the Revenue

Any request under the Freedom of Information Act needs to be sent to: Christy Hudson, Commissioner of the Revenue, PO Box 5, Nottoway, VA 23955, 434-645-9317


Freedom of Information Act requests should be directed to: Sheriff Robert Jones, P.O. Box 6, Nottoway, VA 23955

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Freedom of Information Act requests should be directed to: Jane Brown, P.O. Box 25, Nottoway, VA 23955 (434) 645-9043