School Board

Nottoway County Public Schools
10321 East Colonial Trail Highway
P.O. Box 47
Nottoway, Virginia 23955
(434) 645-9596
(434) 645-1266 Fax

Current Members of the Board

  • Division Superintendent – Dr. Tameshia V. Grimes
  • District 1—William “Bill” Outlaw
  • District 2—James “Jamie” Higgins, chair
  • District 3—Clive Pettis, Sr.
  • District 4—James “Jimmy” Fowlkes, vice-chair
  • District 5—Shelli Hinton

The Nottoway County School Board is responsible for all local public school operations. The board approves education expenditures, capital projects, personnel, and curriculum. It delegates authority to Superintendent of Schools Dr. Tameshia V. Grimes, who is in charge of implementing School Board policy, as well as the daily operation of the public school system.

Board members are chosen from the same election districts as are the Board of Supervisors. School Board members also serve concurrent terms of four years.

The School Board meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the High School mini-auditorium.